April 2016

Ph.D. student Matt Savoca won UC Davis Grad Slam- a campus competition for the best three minute research presentation!   Matt's research focuses on why marine animals eat plastic garbage. Matt will advance to the UC-wide competition against the nine winners from other UC campuses on April 22nd. 

March 2016

NSF GRFP award winners and honorable mentions have been announced!  Congratulations to our students!

Lea Pollack, Award Winner

Aaron Ninokawa, Award Winner

Lisa Rosenthal, Award Winner

Linda Esteli Mendez Barrientos, Award Winner 

Amanda Coen, Honorable Mention

Aviv Karasov-Olson, Honoroble Mention

Shannon Skalos, Honorable Mention

Rebecca Walker, Honorable Mention 

Melissa Ward, Honorable Mention

Adam Pepi, Honorable Mention

GGE faculty member Don Strong received the UC Davis Academic Senate Faculty Research Lecture award.  As a recipient of the award, Dr. Strong will give a lecture at the Academic Senate awards reception this spring.

GGE faculty member Eric Sanford received a UC Davis Distinguished Teaching Award.  Dr. Sanford has received a perfect instructor rating for 13 of his last 18 courses!

Ph.D. student Denise DeCarion was awarded a Delta Science Fellowship which will support her dissertation entitled: "Ecological functions of tidal marsh for estuarine and migratory fishes in Suisun Marsh, California."  The award will help fund data analysis, statistical modeling, dissertation writing and publishing, and presenting at conferences.

February 2016

Ph.D. student Reid Brennan received an NSF Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grant (DEB-Evolutionary Processes Cluster)!  This grant will support Reid's current dissertation research. 

Tessa Hill was named one of the 106 researchers to receive the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers.  This award recognizes early-career science and engineering professionals and their innovative research.

January 2016

GGE faculty member Tim Caro and colleagues publish study confirming zebra stripes are not used for camouflage

GGE faculty member Tessa Hill, associate professor of earth and planetary sciences, is among the first 15 Public Engagement Fellows named by the Leshner Leadership Institute at the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The inaugural cohort focuses on climate science and scientists who demonstrated leadership and excellence in their research.

Ph.D. student, Ross Brennan, received the Harriet M. Hauber Scholarship.  This fellowship recognizes a student's outstanding academic record and promise of productive scholarship.  

December 2015

A research team led by UC Davis scientists, and GGE faculty member David Neale, sequenced the genome of California's sugar pine.

Kelly Gravuer, Erin Satterthwaite, and Jason Riggio received Graduate Student Travel Awards for 2015-16. These awards support travel to a conference where students will present a research paper.    

GGE faculty member Neal Williams co-authored a new study on wild bee populations.

November 2015

GGE faculty member Rachel Vannette co-authored a new study on forager bees.

October 2015

James Carey, GGE faculty member and professor of entomology, received the Entomological Society of America's 2015 Distinguished Achievement in Teaching Award.  Carey has developed a technology-savvy instructional program, which makes use of short, concise videos. He has produced 125 minivideos, and he teaches faculty, staff and students how to create their own succinct videos and to record seminars.  In keeping with advancing technology, he makes use of paperless exams and each week provides his students with access to new scientists via Skype.

The Natural Reserve System (NRS) celebrated 50 years! The NRS is a network of protected natural areas throughout California. Its 39 sites include more than 756,000 acres, making it the largest university-administered reserve system in the world.  The NRS 50th Anniversay Event was held October 23, 2015 at 1PM at the UC Davis Conference Center.

June 2015

Emily Zefferman received the Shapiro Family Award for Excellence in Science based on the quality of her dissertation and outstanding academic and research record. This award was established in 2007 by Howard and Nancy Shapiro, to recognize the most outstanding Ph.D. graduates from four UC Davis programs: the Department of Plant Sciences, Agroecology, the Graduate Group in Nutritional Biology and the Graduate Group in Ecology.

Alex Webster was awarded a $10,000 Sustainable Agriculture Scholarship from Annie's to support her work using hydrologic and isotopic tracers for an in-depth analysis on nitrogen removal in riparian hedgerows along agricultaral ditches on farms in the Central Valley.

The 2014-2015 Hillyer Service Award was awarded to Erin Satterthwaite for her dedicated service to the Graduate Group in Ecology. Erin has been actively involved in the Graduate Group in Ecology since entering the program and has served in a variety of roles. She was EGSA co-president for two years, co-leader for the annual Ecology silent auction event, a Picnic Day volunteer, and a Graduate Student Association representative. Erin has also played integral roles with GGE admissions and recruitment.

The 2014-2015 Spurr Service Award was awarded to Christine Sur for her outstanding accomplishments in outreach.Throughout Christine's graduate studies, she has pursued teaching,volunteer, and leadership roles to share science beyond academia and to engage with diverse communities. In the last year, she has been deeply involved with three different groups that conduct outreach to the broader community: California Phenology Project at the Stebbins Cold Canyon Natural Reserve, CAMEOS, and an outreach program at Bodega Marine Lab where she had the opportunity to travel to Indonesia!

April 2015

Seven current GGE students received NSF awards: Connor Dibble, Max Kern, Marina LaForgia, Risa Pesapane, Shelby Reinhart, Rachel Struch, and Matthew Williamson!

Three UC Davis ecologists recognized nationwide: Alan Hastings, newly elected to the National Academy of Sciences and Sharon Strauss and Peter Wainwright, newly elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.