Fall 2014 Seminars

Ecology (ECL) 290- Student participatory seminars:


Baskett, Marissa & Alan Hastings. CRN: 40053
Spatio-Temporal Heterogeneity and Species Coexistence, 1 unit, Wednesdays, 4-5pm, 2120J Wickson. Spatio-Temporal290DescriptionF2014.pdf.

Hull, Josh. CRN: 40081 (cross-listed with AVS 290, CRN 64757)
Avian Ecology: Ecological Theory, Behavior, and Conservation of Birds, 4 units, Thursdays, 4pm, 1135 Meyer Hall.

Grosholz, Ted. CRN: 40068.
Biological Invasions and Global Change, 1 unit, Fridays, 3:10-4pm, 1017 Wickson. 



Approved for an ECL 290 for the JDPE students at SDSU:


Dinsdale, Elizabeth
. Coral Reef Ecology, 3 units, Wednesdays, 5pm, SLS 363.


ECL 298



Ecology and Evolution Seminar Series Fall 2014


ECOLOGY AND EVOLUTION

SEMINAR SERIES*

 Fall 2014

ECL 296 (CRN 40089) / PBG 292 (54481)

Thursdays, 4:10-5:30PM; Kleiber 3

 


DateSpeakerAffiliationHostTitle
October 2Robert Pringle Princeton University Host: Sharon Strauss, systrauss@ucdavis.edu “Complex interactions and trophic control in African savannas”
October 9Noah Whiteman University of Arizona Host: Artyom Kopp, akopp@ucdavis.edu, “Evolutionary genomics of host-parasite interactions”
October 16Jon Shurin University of California, San Diego Host: Jay Stachowicz, jjstachowicz@ucdavis.edu “Cumulative impacts of local and global environmental change in freshwater food webs”
October 23 Dianna Wall Colorado State University Host: Don Strong, drstrong@ucdavis.edu Storer Major Issues: “Lessons from an Antarctic Desert:
Documenting Climate Change and Measuring its Impact on Soil Life”
October 30Franck Courchamp University of Paris-Sud Host: Sebastian Schreiber, sschreiber@ucdavise.edu “Interactions between climate change and biological invasions”
November 6 Marm Kilpatrick University of California, Santa Cruz Hosts: Richard Cobb, rccobb@ucdavis.edu, Jaime Ashander, & Noam Ross “The ecology of West Nile virus transmission across a land-use gradient”
November 13 Winifred Frick University of California, Santa Cruz Host: Jaclyn Aliperti, jralperti@ucdavis.edu “Ecology and conservation of bats”
November 20 Justin Brashares University of California, Berkeley Host: Brian Todd, btodd@ucdavis.edu “Connecting trophic cascades to socio-ecological systems in Africa”
December 4Jay Lund Civil & Environmental Engineering, UC Davis No Host “Challenges of drought for water and environmental management: California's ongoing drought”
December 11 Tamra Mendelson University of Maryland, Baltimore County Host: Gail Patricelli, gpatricelli@ucdavis.edu “The role of communication in the origin and maintenance of species boundaries”

 

 

*Sponsored by: College of Biological Sciences, Department of Evolution and Ecology, Center for Population Biology, Graduate Group in Ecology, Department of Environmental Science & Policy, Department of Plant Sciences, Department of Wildlife, Fish & Conservation Biology, Department of Land, Air and Water Resources, Center for Theoretical Ecology, Kearney foundation of Soil Sciences, Biological Invasions & IGERT REACH and John Muir Institute for the Environment.

 

Other Departmental Seminars