GGE Committees

GGE Committees

Executive Committee

Dr. Truman P. Young, GGE Program Chair

Dr. Ben Sacks, Vice Chair

Dr. Mark Lubell, Awards

Dr. Walter Oechel, JDPE

Dr. Loo Botsford

Dr. Janet Foley

Dr. Nann Fangue

Deniss Martinez, Diversity Committee

Helen Killeen, Student Representative

Aviv Karasov-Olsen, Student Representative

Admissions Committee

Dr. Ben Sacks, Chair

Dr. Andrea Schreier, Vice Chair

The remainder of the admissions committee is comprised of all faculty members accepting students during an application cycle as well as student volunteers who assist in the review process. The average committee size is approximately 75.

Awards Committee

Dr. Mark Lubell, Chair

Dr. Erica Fleishman, Faculty Representative

Dr. Dirk Van Vuren, Faculty Representative

Dr. Jay Stachowicz, Faculty Representative

Grace Charles, Student Representative

Kristen Elsmore, Student Representative

Marina LaForgia, Student Representative

Deniss Martinez, Diversity Committee Representative

Matt Malepeai, Program Representative

Diversity Committee

The GGE Diversity Committee is taking steps to address diversity in the field of Ecology by starting dialogues about diversity, providing diversity training, examining policies and procedures, encouraging effective outreach, and acting as a resource and source of support for all students. As leaders in the field, the GGE has the opportunity and the responsibility to address barriers to diversity within ecology.

The Diversity Committee will work to foster appreciation for the value of diversity in the GGE, to create and sustain a supportive and inclusive environment for all members, and to diversify our membership. Specific duties of the Diversity Committee will be to 1) support enrolled students by providing information resources and social events, 2) increase awareness of diversity issues and opportunities for outreach by providing student and faculty trainings and webpage management, and 3) identify methods to increase student and faculty diversity in the GGE and present these methods to the Executive Committee for consideration of adoption.

Ecology Graduate Student Association (EGSA)

Andrea Broad, Co-Chair

Angie Korabik, Co-Chair

Paige Kouba, Co-Chair

UC Davis OMBUDS Office

A Safe Place to discuss concerns, generate options, identify resources, and manage conflict

Phone: (530) 219-6750